6 Weeks As A Family

As a part of our bedtime routine each night, we hold them and give them a bottle. May seem a little unnecessary for an almost 2 and 4 year old … but it’s something we decided to build-in to help with bonding. And it has.

I get a lump in my throat just about every other night as I look in their eyes and think about them being anywhere but here. I know that at some point I will need to deal with the reality of their past…but for right now–beyond praying as God leads us for specific implications of their past on their current lives– it’s not the time. Any parent can relate to shuddering at the thought of their child experiencing abnormal pain. My children have faced more loss (and likely seen more tragedy) in their few years on this earth than I have in 31.

I often wonder if they can understand the transition that’s happening around them. I can honestly say that my kids are two of the happiest children I know. I just have to get on camera the squeals they let out when they hear the garage door opening … signaling daddy’s return from work. Every song is an opportunity for a dance party, and the things we take for granted–like puppy dogs, sprinklers and trees–are like the end of a treasure hunt. As I type, I’m sure this is true for most all kids, but I still wonder if our children’s delight in life is inversely proportional to the depravity they came from.

Overall, the past 6 weeks have felt more like years … in a very rich way. I can’t believe we only just first held them July 10th. God has done something marvelous in both us and them, and it’s as if we never weren’t a family. While I know we will have many bumps ahead and certainly wouldn’t say we’re out of the woods in terms of the initial transition, I also am fairly convinced that God can overcome anything.

There can be a stigma about adoption, as if somehow these children are tainted … forever. The American dream is to have the healthy child and the family-without-issues and adoption seems to fight that gravity. Laced in the conversations about children who are adopted is the assumption that their personalities and character are permanently imprinted and adoptive parents should hope they don’t get a bad one. Better to adopt them younger, people say, as it’s less likely they will have been scarred for life.

As I look at our experience thus far I wouldn’t say it’s been so positive because we got beautiful, healthy, happy children–in fact, our children have medical issues I choose not to go into on this blog. We’ve been on our faces much since they’ve returned asking God to heal remnants of their past which have surfaced in their behavior. But the predominant theme is that there isn’t any hurdle He can’t overcome.

It’s a lie to believe a child — any child — is past the point of redemption.There is no stain He can’t remove.

How big is our God.

Just last week I felt prompted to pray that Eden would grow tall. Her severe malnourishment has left her off the charts in weight and height. At the pool a little boy heard me telling my almost-four-year-old that she needed to share her boat with her brother and he said “Why are you talking to that baby like that? Babies can’t understand things like that.”

By the looks of her you might very well think she is a baby. Yet I believe God is going to make her a sign and a wonder for Him. A representation of His glory. (As if He hasn’t done so already!). And so I have prayed that she would grow tall. Not because I’m afraid of having a short child or a child that doesn’t look normal, but because in the moments I have to engage with God in the midst of my day full of play-dough and building blocks, He has told me to believe He would do the impossible in my children and that the real miracles have only just begun.

I thought bringing them home was the picture of redemption.

Turns out it was only the foreshadowing.

DH010003

13 responses to “6 Weeks As A Family

  1. Wow, I am blown away and so touched by your post. Inspired even.
    I fell in love with your daughter when we were there (hence the mounds of pics I took of her!) I LOVE LOVE LOVE seeing these two at home….at long last.
    Take it all in my friend. I am so happy for your family, and as you stated, God can truely do the IMPOSSIBLE and I am always in AWE of what He does in and around my own life.

    We are so unworthy of these off the charts AMAZING children and I am so so thankful.
    Big Love!

  2. Precious thoughts and so thankful that there is not place and no one that God’s redemptive hand cannot touch!!! Thanks for sharing …and LOVED the picture of the two of them!

  3. Most. Beautiful. Children. Ever. Seriously, the smiles make my heart melt. What an incredible miracle.

    I will be praying that God does grow Eden tall. He is the Lord of impossible things, as your all’s journey demonstrates and reminds me daily. Much love to you guys.

  4. That sweet thing that sung me Jesus Loves Me in Amharic is no baby! Oooohhhh I can’t wait to get a hug from from them again. This is yet another fav post. I find myself defending the older children still at Sele Enat after meeting them. They are still children, like children anywhere in the world. If I was redeemed and made a sister of Christ, and have a mansion waiting in Heaven for me, then you are so right, no child is beyond redemption here on earth.

    Bring them home everyone! You won’t regret it!!!!!

  5. Wow! (This is Lory’s husband by the way)…Your blog posts are amazing. I always look forward to reading the next one. Your writing is incredible and always brings a tear in the eye of this forty-something dad of an Ethiopian daughter (now 19 months). Thank you for your heart felt posts. I wish you would consider writing a book about your experiences. Your insights are deep and touching.

    Dave

  6. These two precious children are indeed a sign and tribute of HIS glory alone. We too fell in love with your sweeties, not a day has gone by yet that Paeton hasn’t mentioned your sweet Meske. You wrote something a long time ago that has remained with me and will always. . . “Those of the earth even officially tagged as abandoned, relinquished– marked with what may seem like a forever statement of their lack– are given the beauty of a new family, a new home. But, even more real to me right now, someone like me– like us– flawed, sinful, still stumbling to get our bearings, being granted the mantle of redemption of the God of the universe for these little children. Oh, would He let us do that? Would He let us be bearers of His hope for the hopeless and His enveloping arms for the suffering?” What an honor it is to be apart of His divine plan, I am truly humbled.

  7. They are beautiful, it is beautiful, God is beautiful. Thank you for sharing the lovely gift of your insights! We are praying seriously about bringing a school-age boy home. Your words, and your reminders of God’s redeeming faithfulness, are great encouragement to me!

  8. Thank you for this post…I just happened upon your blog and our adoption journey has been anything but normal. As I look to the bleak weeks and months ahead, not knowing when we will ever meet our boys, I certainly needed this reminder that God can overcome anything. Yes, yes…how big is our God!

    Your children are beautiful…many blessings to your family.

    Laura
    http://refinedfaith.wordpress.com

  9. Just found your website. Beautiful post. Our God is big enough. Period.
    Thank you for sharing.

  10. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a new family. Your children are absolutely gorgeous beyond words…

  11. Jennie & Kevin Blumenthal

    What a beautiful picture of your kids!!! Love reading these updates

  12. I just thought of you tonight and checked your blog! What a blessing you are home with your beautiful children. Praise God.
    Betsy

  13. Nate & Sara,
    Hadn’t discovered your blog til now, but am blown away by the beauty here, and far beyond encouraged at what God is doing in you and in your family. As a matter of fact, I just took middle schoolers on a retreat this weekend and the theme was identity- with a focus on adoption & our security in an unshakable God who welcomes us into His family as sons and daughters. You guys are wonderful, and I pray that Jesus would continue to bless and grow and lavish love upon your family.

    In His Grand Love,
    Liz

Leave a comment